A year unfolded in Scandinavia

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone”

And this quote has again proved its essence in my life.

15th August 2016, when I marked my roller coaster journey of 365 days in this quite, calm and beautiful country. This has also been a time when I achieved those milestones in life which I even didn’t consider to have in bucket list! It has really been my saga of transformation from being ‘dreamer’ to ‘achiever’.

Okay..it was certainly not a cake walk and required a strong will, positive attitude, gratitude and risk taking ability. While it was such a fancy thought to move in a foreign country; I experienced cold feet when my employee card was trashed and then bidding good-bye to my loved ones.

And what have I gained ?

The feeling of fresh air, living surrounded by nature and endless peace of mind.

Now I don’t wake up thinking ‘Log kya kahenge??’..because nobody cares really! I am unique here in every sense and that is always respected, and I do the same.

Sometimes I still can’t believe that I am already speaking a foreign language with the native speakers, most of the time keeping them in dilemma if I am good at languages or the language is easy 🙂 ..I am thankful to Swedish government and my SFI lecturers for this.

I got to see the most contrasting landscape and extreme season change, survived and thrived through it.

My potential in professional career is finally recognized. However, it was a long journey and have seen days when I felt like I am just hitting the stones. It’s just that you need to keep hitting all stones that comes in way until you find the gemstones 🙂

Baking is a new element in our lifestyle now and lets see how much I can get hold of it.

And how does it feel to just jump on and decide to go with local artists, even when you have no clue about how things work in this new country! That’s called passion and I am being paid well for that.

This will just go on and on, but I really can’t do all these if my family , especially my better-half would have not been always by my side, kicking up my confidence.

I can’t be more grateful for being at the right place, at the right time and meeting the right people in these…

12 Months/52 Weeks/365 Days/8765 Hours/525948 Minutes …
Author: Karishma Desai

A free soul with creative mind. I am from India and recently moved to Sweden. Exploring a new life in Scandinavia.

Leave a Reply

